Posted by: miggins | November 6, 2009

Amazon Prime – does it save gas?

Amazon.Prime.logo

I signed our family up for Amazon Prime this week.  I’m not exactly a first mover here but finally got around to it.

If you don’t know, you can pay them $80 a year to cover all shipping and then never pay for ground shipping and overnight is only $3.99.

My goal is to eliminate the need for some shopping trips to Costco or the grocery store for large, bulky stock up items like paper towels, diapers, detergent, etc.  The prices are very competitive and it’s really convenient.

The question is:  Is it more efficient in terms of saving on transportation costs?  I suspect it is as long as I but multiple items in one session.

Scenario 1:  I make 1 trip to Costco and stock up on all I need.  But I assume that my box of Tide detergent went from manufacturing, to a distribution center, to the store and then to my house.

Scenario 2: Using Amazon Prime, the Tide goes from manufacturing to a large AMZN dist. center. to the UPS truck and over to my house.  Theoretically 1 less hop.  Plus if the UPS guy has a truck full of deliveries, then on a mass scale, I suspect it’s much more efficient.

Don’t know about you, but I find myself thinking much more now about where my stuff comes from – be it Chilean Sea Bass ‘flown in today’ or a box of detergent.

 

I recommend it:  click here for a free 2 week trial

Leave a Reply

Categories

