Posted by: miggins | October 1, 2007

Business’ Responsibility to Encourage Recycling

I don’t know about you but as a business leader, I find myself thinking more and more about the responsibility businesses have to do the right thing when it comes to the earth. Whether that’s promoting locally grown produce at the market or reducing waste, it just makes sense that businesses start to make changes. Furthermore, I wouldn’t be surprised to see more activism when businesses fail to act.

How many times have you been in a public place – a supermarket, a ballgame, a concert, etc. and noticed the extreme waste. This is particularly noticeable these days with empty water bottles littering what seems like 75% of the average public trashcan.

With this in mind, the photo below was too hard to pass up.

img_0007.jpg

This was taken at the entrance of Schnabel’s Hardware in San Antonio, TX – a small neighborhood hardware store.

This is so easy and it’s good for business. I already know I’m paying more when I go there vs. Home Chepot, but this makes me feel better about it. Not only am I supporting the little guy, but this ‘little guy’ gets it.

PS: now that I have an iPhone, I think I’ll start looking for the uglier side of this issue, meaning places where trashcans are spilling over with reclyclable materials. Maybe I’ll start with Starbucks. hmmmm… can’t say I’ve ever seen a recycling bin there.

Responses

  1. We need more of those signs everywhere….


Leave a Reply

Categories

